1903 - 1903

Marie receives the Nobel Prize for Physics. The Nobel Prize for Physics in 1903 was awarded to Marie Curie, Pierre Curie and Henri Becquerel for the discovery of “spontaneous radioactivity” and “researches on the radiation phenomena”. Initial intentions to omit Marie, failed due to the support of a prominent Stockholm mathematician, Mittag Leffler, who had supported woman scientists before and her husband Pierre who strongly declared to the committee that this had been a joint discovery.